Our History


The Missaukee county Commission on Aging first began serving the seniors of the county on October 1, 1998.  The agency was, and continues to be funded through a county-wide millage.

For the next 16 years, we operated as a separate governmental entity through an inter-government agreement with Missaukee County.  A Board of Directors, its members from the county at large, provided oversight to the agency.  As of October 1, 2017, the Commission on Aging will operate as a non-profit under contract with the County to provide senior services and receive millage funds.

With over 20 providers, we serve almost 300 clients in their homes; providing homemaking, personal care, and respite.  Additional clients receive foot care and assistance with their medication.  We staff two nurses – a registered nurse and a licensed practical nurse.  We have adopted as our mission,”…to keep the seniors of our county safe and independent in their homes through education, advocacy, and services.”

Through other programs, we are able to reach many more Missaukee County seniors.  We will assist over 200 seniors with their Medicare and Medicaid enrollment and almost 150 clients will have snow removal services through the COA.  With a Michigan Department of Transportation Grant, our volunteer drivers cover nearly 40,000 miles a year taking seniors to medical appointments.

Our vision for the future is to continue to expand our services to meet the needs of the ever increasing senior population.  The programs will be dynamic to meet the ever changing needs of a new generation of older adults.

We will continue to provide all services with compassion and professionalism in following our mission of keeping the seniors of our county safe and independent in their homes through education, advocacy, and services.

It is our honor to do this for our seniors.

 

Our Team
 


Eric, M.A., E.T.S., Q.M.H.P.
Executive Director
ekarbowski@missaukeecoa.org

Mistie
Interim Administrator
mmartin@missaukeecoa.org

Brenda, R.N.
Supervisor of Home Care Services
bstrickland@missaukeecoa.org

 

  
 


Teri, L.P.N.
Staff Nurse
tdick@missaukeecoa.org

Holly
Personnel Coordinator
hdavis@missaukeecoa.org

Shannon CIRS-A/D
Support Services Manager
sscarbrough@missaukeecoa.org

Board of Directors


Pat Smith
Chairman
Psmith@missaukeecoa.org

Aldyne Ebels
Member
Aebels@missaukeecoa.org

Jim Prehn
Secretary
Jprehn@missaukeecoa.org

Ginny Keelean
Vice-Chair
Vkeelean@missaukeecoa.org

 

 

 
 


Wendy Musselman-Prehn
Member
Wmusselman-prehn@missaukeecoa.org

Marcia Zimmerman
Treasurer
Mzimmerman@missaukeecoa.org

Bill Mosher
Member
Mmosher@missaukeecoa.org

Star Hughston
County Board of Commissioners